Football at the 2023 Southeast Asian Games

  • by

What is the Southeast Asian Games 2022?

The Southeast Asian Games, is a biennial multi-sport event with participants from the current 11 nations of Southeast Asia. The Games are regulated by the Southeast Asian Games Federation under the supervision of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) and the Olympic Council of Asia (OCA).

The Southeast Asian Games are one of five sub-regional games of the Olympic Council of Asia (OCA). The others are the Central Asian Games, the East Asian Youth Games, the South Asian Games and the West Asian Games.

asian football


The Southeast Asian Games owe their origins to the Southeast Asian Peninsula Games or SEAP Games. On May 22, 1958, delegates from the Southeast Asian Peninsula countries attending the Asian Games in Tokyo, Japan, met at a meeting and agreed to form a sports organization. The idea for the SEAP games was developed by Luang Sukhum Nayaoradit, then vice president of the Thai Olympic Committee. The proposed rationale was that a regional sporting event would promote cooperation, understanding and relations between countries in the Southeast Asian region.

The soccer tournament at the 2022 Southeast Asian Games will be held from May 12 – 23. The U-23 (under 23) national teams play in the men’s tournament, and there are no age restrictions in the women’s tournament.


The Southeast Asian Games logo was introduced during the 1959 edition in Bangkok with six rings representing the six founding members, and was used until the 1997 edition in Jakarta. The number of rings increased to 10 during the 1999 edition in Brunei to reflect the inclusion of Singapore, which was accepted into the Southeast Asian Games Federation in 1961, and Brunei, Indonesia, and the Philippines, which joined the organization in 1977, increased again to 11 during the 2011 edition in Indonesia to reflect a new member of the federation, East Timor, which was accepted in 2003.

Since the Southeast Asian Games began in 1959, they have been held in 15 cities in all Southeast Asian countries except Cambodia and East Timor.


According to the SEAGF Statutes and Rules, the host country must host a minimum of 22 sports. Each sport must not offer more than 5% of the total number of medals, with the exception of athletics, water sports and shooting (the number of strokes for this category was raised in 2013). At least four countries must participate in each sport and event to be included. Sports accepted at the Olympic and Asian Games must have priority.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *